Breaking Mental Boundaries

Coming to Ethiopia as a fresh graduate was my first time away from a structured environment. First time I had to just figure things out on my own. As much as Peace Corps tries to prepare you, until you step away on your own, it just doesn’t hit. I remember trying to adjust to the different experiences and looking to my left and right wondering why my projects weren’t working out as the others. Slowly, I began to realize that although there were many situations, unmotivated counterparts and a slow system, that may have prevented me from getting things started…there was more. I started to look within myself and realized that I was doing the best that I could with what I had to give. I was giving my all, as much as I could mentally handle. Maybe another volunteer would be able to do more, but I am…me. Simply speaking, I am me. All I could do was try. I had to respect my mental boundaries that were set in place to stay sane. 
As I continued to adjust and get used to my new surroundings, I started to branch out. Started to push my limits, create new boundaries…began teaching at a school, developing a food security project, forging true relationships. Looking back and seeing where I started, how far I’ve come, how many challenges I’ve stepped over, how much I’ve worked to fight mental boundaries…I can’t help but feel…proud, damn proud, of the person that I am becoming.  I am happy at the place I am right now, mentally, physically and spiritually.

About bnw0404

I hope to use this blog to keep everyone updated on my Peace Corps journey from California to Ethiopia Disclaimer: The contents of this page, and all links appearing on this page, do not represent the positions, views or intents of the U.S. Government, or the United States Peace Corps.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Breaking Mental Boundaries

  1. tyranwright@att.net says:

    Hey Bre,

    After reading your comments in your blog I was wondering if someone or something made you question your decisions and or your growth as a person. I hope that’s not the case. I know I’m proud of you and all the BS you have had to deal with over there. All these hurdles and challenges, dealing with people and a culture is only going to make you stronger in all your future endeavors. You didn’t break like so many others have, goes to your mental toughness. It gives me great strength to know you can survive damn near anything. I hope you have gotten what you were looking for when you signed up. Now bring it on home to the finish and make them remember Breanna Nicole Wright.

    Love you, Dad

    • bnw0404 says:

      Thanks dad!

      Fortunately, no one has made me question my growth. I think that sometimes I am so close to the situation, I don’t necessarily see it, although I know its happening. But yesterday was a day were I clearly was able to reflect and think back on how far I’ve come.

      Love you too!

  2. Deb says:

    Hey Bre,

    I was actually inspired by your thoughts. As I was reading this, I thought of your cousin and some of his challenges. I think sometimes the biggest setback in life is wondering why others are ahead of you or appearing to do more. I think realizing who you are and giving your best is the best thing you can do for yourself, GOD, and country.
    I hope when I share these words with your cousins, they will both be able to look in the mirror and see themselves and be able to reflect as elegantly as you did.
    I am soooooo proud of you and who you have become. You have made an amazing difference in that community and I am proud to be related to YOU!!
    Take care and always remember, “A vision without action is just a picture”. Girl, your actions are shining through for the world to see your vision.
    Love you, Auntie

    • bnw0404 says:

      Aww thank you auntie!!! Im proud to be related to you too, such a strong,kind, loving thoughtful woman! I cant wait to get back and talk to them and just share, bound..it took awhile for me to get to this stage and Im sure one day they will too

Leave a Reply

