Cheese Burger Please

I eat injera everyday, and it is good. Thank God I am not as picky as I used to be. I used to not eat ANYTHING! I would eat one thing at a time, and I was not open to trying new things. Of course all of that changed when I went to college and lived in the dorms. I began to at least try anything you put in fron t of me. For the most part I do enjoy Ethiopian food, except fur fur. Thats not my favorite. But no matter how much I enjoy the food, I still miss the food back home. Today I had  a meetin gwith the bathroom ever 15-20 minuntes. it seems the dreaded diahrea hit a bunch of of the volunteers today. I think the hotel got us sick. Since I am in the capital for a coupel of days,I was determined to eat FORENJI FOOODDDD!! let me tell you diahhrea was NOT going to stop me from eating some forenji food! I dont care if I have to stay up all night running to the bathroom, I wanted to taste the food! a couple of the more experienced volutneers took us to a restaraunt with BURGERS! I had a delicious chees burger with mushrooms, sauteed onions, tomatoes, lettuce, and FRIES! It was delicious! I pigged out! The restraraunt even had a flushing toilet! Oooo it was BEAUTIFUL!

By the way an interesting cultural observation. Homosexual relationships are nto allowed/cutlurally acceptable here. To the point where some people beleive it does not exist here. But, it is very common for men to hold hands, sit in each other laps, have their arms around each other, on their thighs…just a very touchy feeling relationship between men. The touching is very common amongst heterosexual men.

About bnw0404

I hope to use this blog to keep everyone updated on my Peace Corps journey from California to Ethiopia Disclaimer: The contents of this page, and all links appearing on this page, do not represent the positions, views or intents of the U.S. Government, or the United States Peace Corps.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cheese Burger Please

  1. chidinma ezeani says:

    Its a shame that the issues about homosexuality is still in Africa, its exactly like that in Nigeria. But in Trinidad they were OUT!lol that surprised me.

  2. VeLisa says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your stomach situation but glad you’re trying new things! Now on to your other topic: “it is very common for men to hold hands, sit in each other laps, have their arms around each other, on their thighs…just a very touchy feeling relationship between men.”….Now you know I couldn’t care less about anyone’s sexual orientation, but label or not…uhhh, yeah they’re gay! 🙂

Leave a Reply

