Sime Breanna new

Today we learned words to greet our host family.

Sime Breanna new (pronounced si-meh Breanna no- this is not how it is written, words are written similiar to Arabic here) ) means My name is Breanna.

You can also say Breanna ibalalaehu (i-ball-ahh-lew)

Dehna neh? (Day-nah Nay) means How are you (masculine)

Dehna nesh?  (Day-nah nesh) means how are you (feminine)

We learned quite a few more words and after this blog I am definitely going to practice. Tomorrow we move in with the host family and I would like to be able to greet them without reading my paper. But, I will write flash cards just in case I forget any words.

Peace Corps Volunteers came to talk to us about their experiences and strategies on how to overcome challenges. It was simple advice but when you are in the situation you can easily forget the ‘basics’.

I have had a few Ethiopians come up to me and say “same, same” as they hold their arm up to mine. I have also had people come up to me and begin speaking in Amharic (When I’m alone.) When I am with other volunteers they usually know I am a forenji ( four-in-g foreigner).

Today we went sightseeing!! We got to to two museums. One was an emperor’s house, that still has the rooms preserved and has been turned into a University/Museum . Here are some pics of my adventure thus far (I am trying to take advantage of the fast internet at this hotel so I am trying to blog as often as I can and post these pics now lol..sorry I couldnt get them all up but here’s a start)

**To view pics at your own speed put the mouse over the pics..you can press forward or back**

There are pics from the airport, of the hotel and the bathroom (this is not representative of what the bathroom I will really be using is like), the view from my window (by the way I hear chanting/prayer at 6am  its pretty nice), pics from the museum (there is a replica of Lucy-the first human- as she is on the world tour but I will be back when she comes back), pics from the street, I forgot who the guy on the horse is, the building you see behind the trees is a famous church,  pics of the monuments that were built when Italy failed at colonizing Ethiopia (they are the only African country that was not taken over by the Europeans. While ITaly occupied Ethiopia they never successfully taken over Ethiopia and were at war the years they were here until they were driven out), statues that were outside the museum..

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About bnw0404

I hope to use this blog to keep everyone updated on my Peace Corps journey from California to Ethiopia Disclaimer: The contents of this page, and all links appearing on this page, do not represent the positions, views or intents of the U.S. Government, or the United States Peace Corps.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sime Breanna new

  1. Auntie says:

    OMG, my little baby niece!!!! I am so proud. Keep the updates coming. I had to laugh at a few of them. I hope everything continues to go well for you. So far it seems kool, you don’t need to read any of our cards yet. LOVE you!!!

  2. this is great!!!! thank you so much for the info and i’m so glad you connected me to this blog! have an amazing amazing experience abroad! sending love from hercules!

Leave a Reply

